Okay, I know I usually don’t post book reviews on my blog, and I guess being a YA author, reviewing a Romance/Erotica novel is a tad weird, but I have a point to it. I promise.

I’m sure all authors experience trolls at some point in their career. I have the habit of writing reviews and then reading other reviews of that book to see if others felt the same way I did, and compare what others take from the book. I read both the good and the bad.

I can appreciate that everyone has a different taste, and everyone is allowed to have their own opinion, but some of the low rated reviews on this book left me speechless.

Here is my review of Wrong: (contains some minor spoilers)

Okay, I don’t really know where to start and I anticipate I may ramble, because this book was so damn hilarious, and wrong, and sweet, all at the same time.

Appropriately entitled ‘Wrong’, the first quarter of the book had me covering my face with embarrassment.

Quick synopsis: Sophie works at Grind Me coffee shop (yes, one of the reasons I was cringing was the coffee shop name – it’s a bit too on the nose – but it makes for great comedic relief later in the story.) and every Tuesday, hottie mchot stuff (my words, not the book’s) comes in and orders a coffee from her.

Sophie is a 21 year old virgin who decides to take the next step with her boyfriend who she’s in like with. Not love. He’s okay. So she does the responsible thing by going to the student clinic at her college for a pill prescription.

Here she finds out that hottie mchot stuff is a doctor. HER doctor. This leads to the most AWKWARD and WRONG scene I think I have ever read (and I have read some pretty horrible things!). Like a train wreck, I couldn’t look away. It was entertaining, yet so so so so so very wrong at the same time. (Let’s just say, my next doctor exam will be horrific with flashbacks of this scene).

Luke (hottie mchot stuff) and Sophie, despite the age gap, are perfect for each other.

The best friend, Everly, is entertaining and I’m anticipating a follow up with her love story with her college professor in book 2. PLEASE?

There were some issues that never ended up being closed fully, ie. his family’s hatred for Sophie, or his ex-fiancee who always hung around trying to get her claws back into Luke (it kind of annoys me how Sophie never once tells Luke what crazy bitch is up to, or what she has said to her, and lets Luke assume Sophie’s just being immature and jealous.) but these issues were fleshed out enough for the reader to come to their own conclusion.

A very funny and entertaining read.

I rated this book five stars because it was so entertaining, I didn’t want to put it down. As it states in my review, did I love every aspect of it? No. But that didn’t take away from the fact that it kept me occupied and entertained for a few hours.

Being a mum of a toddler, and working two jobs, I don’t have a lot of time to read, so a book really has to be good for me to finish in less than twenty-four hours.

So, what was my point of this again? Right. Trolls.

This is clearly a romance, and contains erotica. The author/publisher was not secretive about this. So when I read a one star review that says, “The butt stuff made me uncomfortable”, I have to laugh and shake my head at the same time.  I’m not into butt stuff either, (sorry, is that an overshare?) so you know what I did? SKIMMED those sections (and laughed my ass off at some of the things I DID read in it. #immature) I dunno, taking stars off for that reason just kind of made me think she was complaining that “this erotica has too much sex.”

That would be like someone reviewing my work and saying “I’m too old for this. It’s all about teenagers.” Well, you know what, honey? You’re reading a YA book, what do you expect? (Side note: I have had a review actually say this. LOL)

Another one star review, and this is probably my favourite one of Wrong, stated that the book was titled correctly because all of it was so WRONG. Uh…… didn’t I state the same thing in my 5 star review?

What were these women expecting when they picked up a book entitled Wrong? I mean, really? I don’t think the title could be any more clearer about what’s in store. Yet they still buy it and then complain about all the wrong stuff that’s in there? It’s laughable, but a bit sad at the same time.

For a debut novel, it’s impressive. It might even be one of my favourite romance books I’ve read this year, which is why I felt the need to defend it.

People are entitled to opinions, and they are allowed to not like books. And I understand that readers are different to authors – we all know what it’s like to put blood, sweat and tears … many many many many tears into a book. Years of our hard work is put into turning out books and these people come in and tear it down in one foul swoop. But as an author, I wish to tell readers to really think about what they’re saying when they tear a book apart.

So it’s not your thing? Hey, fair enough. The writing was full of errors and clearly hadn’t been edited? (That’s so not the case with Wrong BTW) That’s a valid argument. Saying that the erotica you were reading had sex in it? WHAT? NO! Are you crazy?

End rant. And, you should by this book!

