Okay, I think every girl has had that fantasy. You know the one. Handsome player with a huge reputation for being a ladies’ man sees you – Plain Jane – across a crowded room. He immediately dismisses the hot, skinny bimbo he’s talking to and heads in your direction.

Your breath hitches, your palms become sweaty, and your eyes dart around the room making sure this is actually happening, AND that everyone is watching it happen.

He reaches your side, a smirk playing on his lips. “You are, without a doubt, the hottest girl in this room, and I want to take you home. Right now.”

No, no, no, no, no. This can’t actually be happening. I’m totes dreaming, right? He’s noticed me? Why me? I’m nobody. He could have anyone he wants, and he’s chosen me. 

“Okay,” you stammer, reaching for his outstretched hand.

You know he’s a man-whore, that he’s slept with three quarters of the female population, but you don’t care – it’s your turn.

He leads you to his car, opening the door like a gentleman. You slide into the leather seats of his brand new, very expensive (insert dream car here – Beemer, Merc, hey maybe even a Porche).

He takes you back to his mansion/penthouse/wherever and makes sweet sweet love to you all night long. Okay, he f**ks you all night long. Players don’t make love. But that’s okay, because it’s not the reason you went home with him in the first place.

Waking up the next morning to his beautiful face, you blush, realising you just had sex with (insert rich boy name that’s still cool here – Donovan, Carter, Royce). He rolls over to face you, cradling your head in his hand, bringing your lips to his in a slow kiss.

“You’re perfect,” he whispers, not caring about your morning breath.

“You’re insane,” you giggle. Why in the world would he think I’M perfect?

“I mean it. We should do this again sometime. Every day, actually. Today, tomorrow, the next day, the next day after that.”

“Why?” you croak.

“Because you’re the woman of my dreams. All those other girls don’t mean anything. I’m done with my man-whore ways. You’re it for me.”

…… End fantasy …….

Okay, I get the appeal, I really do. It’s probably why these story lines have been done to death in the YA/NA/Romance genre and are so popular.

But can we please step back and take a look at the reality of this situation for just a moment?

  1. Girl is interested in boy, even though it’s well known he has had countless sexual partners. You know that saying, “When you have sex with someone, you’re not just having sex with them, but with every person they’ve ever had sex with?” Is it just me who would look at a man like that and see nothing but an STD risk?
  2. A guy like that would never chase. EVER. I’ve read many books lately where the hot guy makes a move/snarky comment/sexual innuendo toward the female heroine of the story, only to have the female reply in a negative way – ie. snarky non-flirty comment, a slap, a drink thrown in his face. Suddenly, the guy is up for the challenge because NO ONE ever rejects him. There must be something special about this girl, because hey, she has self respect. Something said boy has to tear down immediately, just to prove he can get into her knickers. And guess what – 100% of the time, HE WINS.While I appreciate the girls not throwing themselves at the guy at first, my respect for them teeters when the guy flashes his winning smile or takes them on a first date and suddenly she’s wearing no underwear. OOPS.
  3. These guys seem to always have girls fawning all over them. Like they walk into a room and suddenly girls are throwing their panties at them. WHERE DOES THIS HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE BECAUSE I WANT TO SEE THAT! (Purely for the entertainment of girls acting like morons, of course.) So I can understand them wanting the thrill of the chase when a girl rejects him. But realistically? He’d probably not even bother when there’s another hot girl right beside him, just waiting for her chance to pounce.
  4. Which brings me to point number four, and something that will probably piss a lot of people off. A hot guy like that will NEVER find insta-love with the Plain Jane. THE END. These girls must have such terrible self-esteem that they think they’re ugly when they’re really not. (Most cases this seems to be true because with all their inner whining monologue, everyone else always seems to tell them how pretty they are, and nearly all the boys want to have sex with her. Which brings me to a whole other point I won’t get into which is- while I think hot people can have insecurities, I don’t know of many hot people who will think themselves completely ugly like these girls do in these books.)Okay, so did I just say a hot guy could never fall for a not-so-hot girl? NO! I said they would never experience that Insta-spark, that instant lust where they want to get down and have sex with them immediately. And yet, all of these books portray this as reality.

And okay, here’s where the fantasy part comes into it. I realise these books are just that – a fantasy. (I really think some romance books should be in the Fantasy section because they’re so unbelievable.) But when aimed at YA/NA what are we really teaching them?
Yes, we may be teaching them that the hot guy COULD fall for someone who’s not as good looking as others, and that everyone is beautiful to someone – no matter what they look like on the outside. Yes, we may be teaching them that man-whores can change their ways (everyone can change, right?). And yes, we may be teaching them that playing hard to get will work if the right boy comes along. But aren’t we also saying that a boy isn’t worth having unless he is rich and handsome? Don’t worry about their sordid sexual history – he has money and is good looking. And that damn arrogant smirk! (Can’t forget the smirk!)

Why can’t I read about the Plain Jane woman falling in love with the Plain Jane (Joe?)? A man who has to work for a living? Even the decent looking poor woman, and the decent looking poor man who’s only had a handful of sexual partners?
I want to read about the imperfectly perfect man who makes her heart beat faster, and the butterflies swarm in her stomach. Why do they always have to be rich, and why do they always have to be the best looking guy in the world? Why do they ALWAYS have to have a man-whore status?

My fantasy couple may struggle through life, but they have each other… and that’s a lot for love. (We’ll give it a shot! WOOOOAH WE’RE HALF WAY THERE!…. okay, enough Bon Jovi)

I don’t want to read any more about taming a man-whore. PLEASE.

