Couldn’t agree more.

Silas Payton

image

My review of Patrick Hodges’ Joshua’s Island. I was a little nervous this could just be a preachy anti-bullying platform – not that there’s anything wrong with that, I just do t like to be preached to. This book was not that at all. I started reading this the night before heading out on a family trip last weekend. It was gripping from the start and so well written, I couldn’t help but talk about it. It served as a launch point to a number of great discussions about group dynamics, fitting in, abuse, and bullying.

I felt the author captured the feelings of hopelessness and helplessness very well, portraying the point of view of the victim as well as those around him. It helped explain why people around victims don’t help. Although this story covered some dark material, it did it in a very creative and entertaining way.

This…

View original post 203 more words

